Trick or Treat by Sydney Blackburn: 7/10 Stars

 

36262971

Drew hates labels, but loves Halloween and he wants a trick-or-treat of his own. At his mother’s​ to deliver emergency candy, she has him get the door in his gender-bending costume. The handsome man with the little trick-or-treater would be Drew’s perfect treat.

David’s attraction to Drew is no trick. He wants the whole Drew, in all his unlabeled glory, making Drew think this could be a treat that lasts long past the holiday.

 

Add it on Goodreads or buy it on Amazon.

 

Overall Rating: 7/10 stars

Leigh’s Review: 3/5 Stars

This is a very short story, so there’s not a lot to cover. While the blurb claims Drew hates labels, he labels himself through narration as a ‘genderfluid pansexual man.’ He’s dressed in a tutu and heels for Halloween, hooks up with David at a bar, and they hit it off. David likes Drew for who he is. There’s a mention of Drew’s previous hookups having a fixation/fetish for the clothes, and wanting him to keep on women’s clothes during sex, so he is pleased when David wants him to take them off, which symbolizes to Drew that David is attracted to him as a person, not attracted to his clothing.

The story manages to include some judgmental family (David’s), which always feels like easy-mode for a source of conflict in my opinion—I’m so tired of reading about shitty families, and the conflict here felt pretty unnecessary. I would have liked to see more exploration of Drew’s gender and representation, or David’s bisexuality, instead of wasting words on family slinging insults. On the other hand, Drew’s mother had no issues with his gender identity or choice of clothing, so that was a win.

Basically, this is a cute and easy read if you want a quick smile.

Laura’s Review: 4/5 Stars

Oh, how I liked this short story! I’ve read it twice already, and I can see more than one reread in my future, especially as Halloween approaches. I was totally absorbed by the atmosphere, it felt like Halloween with the costumes and the candy. And it’s a really hard thing to do when it comes to a story as short as this is, so I’m tipping my imaginary hat off to the author for achieving it.

And I loved Drew, from the moment he appears and describes his outfit – which I could totally picture – to the moment he asks David for an actual date. He was so sure of himself, but still so vulnerable, I just wanted to hug him. And I really liked how the fact that he’s genderfluid just is, and it’s not used as any kind of plot device. He’s been hurt before by people that just wanted him for the way he dresses, but David just want him, and preferably without any clothes at all. I loved that.

The story is told from Drew’s point of view, so everything we know of David is what he tells us, but I still fell for him a bit. The way he was inexperienced and nervous when it came to one night stands, but then the way he goes for Drew when he realizes he’s all his for the night. I loved him for the way he treated Drew.

I’m knocking out one star for the family drama, which I feel was unnecessary and didn’t make the story stronger in any way. It happened just at the end, and I think it may have been better if we’d seen David and Drew talking about it on their date. As it is, it struck me as if it was completely unresolved and didn’t add anything to the story.

I do hope the author revisits this couple in the future, maybe with a longer work. I would be the first in line to read it.

Leave a comment